Poets logo

Crimson

No longer mine.

By Caitlin MitchellPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2
Crimson
Photo by Christian Holzinger on Unsplash

Did I do something to make him forget me?

I can't remember anything. I can't remember anything beyond the sound of her name on his lips:

Sam. Not Samantha, but her nickname. Like they knew each other in a world where full names shattered the backdoor intimacy they had so secretly cultivated.

Try as I might, she was all I saw:

Red hair, bottle bought and paid for.

A smile that could stop your heart from a mile away.

Could've fooled me. If only it had fooled him.

The pain of his confession had been lodged in my heart for days now:

"I cheated. I'm leaving. I love her."

Only her.

Not me anymore.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Caitlin Mitchell

Just a 20-something writer trying to get all her ideas down on one page before moving on to the next.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.