Poets logo

Creativity

The Good Distraction

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Creativity
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Dalliances of the mind and soul

If only we could follow them, see where they go

Society discourages them, squashes them

Trains us to bury them and

Run away from them like diseased bodies

After all, what use could they be, these flights of fancy?

Creativity leads only to no good

To less productivity and more beauty

Independent thinkers and forward progress

Oh! Don’t you see what a world that would be?

No, no more distractions for me

*

*

*

Thanks for reading! For more of my work, please visit my Vocal profile or my blog, The Writer’s Scrap Bin.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    Here’s to less productivity and more beauty. 👍 Great job. Best of luck.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.