Poets logo

Creatively Re-use And Re-cycle

To restore my inner peace

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2021
47
Creatively Re-use And Re-cycle
Photo by Jan Canty on Unsplash

When the stresses in my life start to get too much

I need relief and thats when I get my creative on,

To make something that’s both physical and mental

Either pleasing to the eye or useful to someone.

***

I begin to look around my environment

To see if there’s anything that can be re-used,

Things that are no longer of use as they are

Or are broken and heading for the refuse.

***

It’s important to me and I believe to our world

That we make an effort to re-use and re-cycle,

It usually just takes a little creative thinking

So many possibilities with a little effort and trial.

***

So I will write and explain to you in great detail

A couple of pieces I created to restore my inner peace,

Where possible I have creatively re-used and re-cycled

To gain for myself and the world some pressure release.

***

Creative example Number One, a quilt for my son

This come about when I quit my job due to burnout,

Which left me with a cupboard full of corporate clothes

And with winter coming, my son would be cold without.

***

So Day One of being gainfully unemployed has arrived

I was up bright and early, excited to start the day,

My thinking cap was on, I need to plan this out

So here is my creative process that I’d like to convey.

***

My obsolete corporate clothes are taking up space

When they could be re-cycled and re-used,

I’m strictly opposed to anything going to waste

And my favourite fabrics can be recut and renewed.

Maybe a patchwork quilt of memories interlaced.

By Aviv Rachmadian on Unsplash

I then proceeded to spend many an hour and a day

Cutting up my clothing using scissors by hand,

Until I had literally hundreds of fabric squares laid

In the style of the bedroom quilt I had planned.

Moving squares until I was pleased with the display.

By Hermes Rivera on Unsplash

I decided this quilt would be a gift for my son

A colourful surprise for his bedroom,

I’d secretly hand sew each tiny stitch, until done

Hoping it would become a family heirloom.

Eventually passed down to my grandson.

By J Williams on Unsplash

Many, many nights sitting in front of a show

A labour of love, sweat and tears,

Slowly the quilt continued to grow

Ensuring the quality would last through the years.

Suddenly all that’s left is the border to sew.

By Jeff Wade on Unsplash

I loved every minute putting this quilt together

As it satisfied my creative urge,

Perfect timing as here comes the cold weather

And my son climbed underneath fully submerged.

Promising to keep his gift forever and ever.

By Nathan Bang on Unsplash

Creative example Number Two, a piece of wall art

An idea that popped into my head one weekend,

As I was cleaning and found objects not longer useful

Could they be made into a piece of art, well that depends.

***

What do I have to start with?

A piece of wood from an old bed

Some faded fabric and leftover nails,

Cotton from an embroidery project

And lastly a drawing my son unveiled.

***

The tools I have at hand?

A hammer

Some glue,

My trusty scissors

Yes they’ll do.

***

I gaze over the materials

And suddenly inspiration comes to mind,

I’ll glue the fabric to the wood

Lay over the drawing and tack the outline.

Photo taken by Author

I use my trusty scissors next

To cut away the drawing,

We now have a silhouette

As a result of our exploring.

Photo taken by Autho

Mmmmmmm where to go from here

Oh I know, we still have the string on hand,

Along with some leftover nails

To be tacked randomly around the man.

***

The string and nails can now become

“Spotlights” in string art,

Highlighting the silhouette

Along with a pink string heart.

Photo taken by Author

I was extremely pleased in how both of these

The quilt for my son and the piece of wall art,

Turned out, once I had fully completed them

Especially as they were to be rubbish at the start.

***

I have restored both my inner peace and my pride

In being able to help our environment too,

I finished with a real sense of accomplishment

And both my mental and creative streaks pursued.

***********************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

art
47

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.