Poets logo

Cracks in the Rainbow

Discussing "terms and conditions" of being a part of the LGBTQ+

By G. SinfoldPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Rainbow Neon Sign

Living is Temporary

I think about that a lot

Especially when the voice talks

“No one likes queers”

“No one likes snowflakes”

And here I am in the in-between

Being Bi I’m told on both sides of the rainbow

“You are just confused”

“You are a fake Straight/Gay”

Then you throw in Gender Fluid too

“Your pronouns do not make sense”

“Why are you making things difficult?”

I crack jokes to de-escalate

I smile and laugh to lighten the mood

I change subjects to make it easier

On Them

I adjust my demeanor

I alter how I present

I mold myself for others

Their Comfort

But I’m also Bi-Polar

“There’s always something with you”

“if it’s not one thing it’s another”

But I ALSO have a language disorder

“There you go again”

“Looking for attention”

I feel broken

I feel shattered

Why are there so many pieces?

Why can’t I be the default?

Why am I even here.

My birthday month comes

June

Its my month!

Let my flags fly!

Pink Purple Blue

“You are just greedy”

Pink White Purple Black Blue

“Just say you want to be male”

The whole month preaches

“Love is Love”

“Be your true self”

But here I am

In the In between

I never realized that there were cracks

Between the colors of the rainbow

Until I fell into purgatory

It’s finally my birthday

June 30th

The end of what was supposed to be my month

What was supposed to be my celebration

To make me feel worthy of staying

But really maybe it’s supposed to be

My end

social commentary

About the Creator

G. Sinfold

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    GSWritten by G. Sinfold

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.