Poets logo

Covid 19 & poetry. Understanding the quarantine.

A poem inspired by current events.

By KantshensPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Photo is from: https://www.google.com/search?q=listen&tbm=isch&ved=2ahUKEwjJyOCxopDqAhWBZ98KHcFfB1wQ2-cCegQIABAC&oq=listen&gs_lcp=ChJtb2JpbGUtZ3dzLXdpei1pbWcQARgAMgQIIxAnMgUIABCxAzIFCAAQsQMyBQgAELEDMgIIADoHCCMQ6gIQJ1Db5AFY6-oBYMXvAWgCcAB4AIABxAGIAeMFkgEDMi40mAEAoAEBsAEF&sclient=mobile-gws-wiz-img&ei=L_DtXon1O4HP_QbBv53gBQ&bih=724&biw=414&prmd=inv#imgrc=TvqOflPNl3EFOM&imgdii=F3_BJTgi6XwGBM

Listen

Listen,

I don’t comprehend the motion of emotions that is devouring your skin cells. I only intend to understand the significant agony you are currently experiencing. This plague of despair hasn’t phased me for odd reasons, yet I’m still hear to listen. Maybe even to give you some encouragement to the side you are blinded too.

OH STOP SHUT THE HELL UP!

Ah excuse me ?

You listen,

You have no say in the enduring pain I’m experiencing. While you stroll your little feet down Atlantic ave heading to your job, I’m standing on this filthy ass sidewalk, waiting in line for typical needs. Lingering Pain in my legs while fear engulfs my skull, praying for the demon to disappear from the area. This “ plague of despair “ you called it is our nightmare.

Wait wait

Just hear me out please

Listen,

Your agony isn’t a mockery of my concerns. Your frustration is sending pulse waves to my brain to compute the words I’m trying to preach to you. It’s not your sorrow I want to play on, it’s the Bruce lee adrenaline kicks of courage I strive to protect. You been struggling to see the light, while I have been casually walking over your stress.

UH ! I DONT WANT YOUR PITY !

NONE OF THAT HEALS MY SITUATION.

Listen

You need a reality check to all the humans who deceased over this madness. My slumber doesn’t exist anymore, my kids stay in my shelter wondering why they don’t interact with others anymore. I’m stuck on line after line just waiting for a approval of my first ever unemployment check. Yet with all of this evil around, my mom was kidnapped from my family because of this demonic virus polluting our home. I’m tired of your self pity sir. You have survivalist written all over your forehead while I’m hanging on my last bit of hope left.

See now that’s why I must stop you there

Listen to me

While I struggle everyday wondering how you are holding up, I’m determined to grasp your feelings and devote myself to the mission. You are no different then me. We are warriors. We are the last line of defense for our survival. I lost my angel of a mother to something darker & this plague would of swallowed me whole had she endured its wraith. Here you stand in my presence telling me To not give you my pity. Pity doesn’t fuel my ambition to heal your spirit . These reality check syllables do.

Your not weaker due to this, you are stronger

Your not dumber due to this, you are wiser.

You are a warrior.

Say it for me

...... I ...am ...a... uh

WARRIOR DAMMIT LISTEN TO ME!

Others fall into the cracks of sorrow due to the inevitability of not becoming a warrior. You was created to set the bar of hope. You may be down in your defeat but this war is only progressing. You can’t lose a battle you are winning.

Wait what do you even mean? Winning?

Hm alright you got me listening.....for now.

Okay boom so check it right.

Listen

Blossoms of appreciation circle around your aura like a merry- go around. You push past your limitations to create solutions in events you can’t control. Yet you belittle my intelligence simply due to the idea of me not walking your path. I can’t become the position you was created for. Your design was uploaded to this simulation simply due to your survival skills built within you. I’m not mocking or gloating at your misery because I see what you see. I actually admire you.

However the battle requires us to hold our emotions on standby & think about the end game strategy to surpass this crisis. We all are feeling this unimaginable tingling of hopelessness. Feeling useless as people who strive on helping others but can’t even hold their love one’s hands on their final days. Disgusted by the display of bodies being thrown to burn in our agonizing pain. Lost due the our working patterns being compromised by one thing.

A curse.

We don’t project the same kind of energy. We embrace the differences because it helps us work together & fight together. Yes we all are struggling now but wasn’t we before ? Wasn’t we in the same kind of pain before this pain casually join the parade? This war isn’t different. We endure and conquer. This brings unity to our peace. The bond we share with others and the growth we display. Don’t see this event as a losing battle, remind yourself that everyday you deflect the negativity with your positive views.

Staying strong under the storm is how you dodge the lightning strikes above. I feel your pain. So now let’s turn this pain into glorious hope that we will survive like nobody else would. That we can conquer our fears and

Obliterate our doubts. Designing new stories to achievement to those who will read our story.

I think I can do that

Uh I know you can. Otherwise if you didn’t think so. You wouldn’t have listened at all.

Darkness feeds on your pain, so stop delivering its supplies to conquer you.

Listen.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Kantshens

Welcome to the De' soul poet's page.

This is poetry for the soul. 3rd person

Follow me on Instagram : Kantshens_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.