Poets logo

Conversations with Dead People

A Poem

By Arielle IrvinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

After you died, you stood before

me in a kitchen that didn’t exist.

Everything was wrong, yet there you were

talking to me as if it were just months ago.

I cried when it hit me that I was asleep,

both in the dream, and when I woke.

I said to you, “You know this isn’t real.

Grandma, you’re dead.”

And you looked at me and smiled

in your pink-flower-printed pajamas

and said, “I know honey,

but you needed me.”

This happened years ago

but remains fresh in my memories

as if I had just seen your face last night

for the final time all over again.

I wish you were here now

to be brutally honest and loving.

The world could use more of that

or at least I could.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Arielle Irvine

I’m a lover of words and how they’re arranged. Though I’ve never felt like an amazingly talented writer, I hope you will find my works to be moving and thoughtful, perhaps even beautiful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.