Poets logo

Conversation

Love is a mother fucker.

By Victor CuadradoPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Did you know, your smile lingers upon your frown?

You mean my wrinkles

No, those things weren't there when I first met you

What do you mean then hunny

I still feel something when you call me hunny. *smirks* no, when I first met you, you had this focus. And I was very happy when I seen you because before you even smiled, I'd watch you smile.

You're crazy

I know, but I'm crazy for you

I know

You know, when we first had a conversation, I froze.

*a soft smile*

Yeah, my mouth was moving, but I was gone. Gone telling the universe I met someone, and that I would go through great lengths to meet you again if you permitted me.

You needed permission?

... I'm a gentle man.

Only your kisses are gentle, baby, everything else is just being nice.

*into each other's eyes, they smile, and rain fall softly on the window sill.

I'm still here

You believe I doubt?

Yes.

I would... watch you come closer and closer and I would chase that smile til I got it. I wanted more of it. So much more.

So why did you leave?

I was scared.

Scared of what?

That I'd ruin things. That the time wasn't right. Of the person I was becoming. *a face of agony deepens* if I ruined anything with you - that, would've been the end of me, right there.

You still feel that way?

*breathes*... You were always more intelligent.

You were always more creative.

I like to think of it as being resourceful.

You.

I know, I heard I get it from my daddy. He chose right, you know... Finally. She's still amazing through her kids.

*the sun peeks through Gray clouds, and warms the center of his forhead

If I had a nickel for every time you've made me smile...

Then you would try to invest it in me, and I'll say "no, you keep the money" like that character from Hey Arnold... When I'm gone, I'm gone baby, let me find you again...

About Conversation

The dialect is between an aged couple. The husband is on his death bed, and fear that his wife might resent his death, has a strategic and slightly humorous conversation with her to ensure her smile. There's still selfishness, being a believer in reincarnation, he feels that his insecurity of doing right by her might condemn him from finding her again in the next life. There is doubt on both sides. However, they know exactly what to say to each other.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Victor Cuadrado

Victor is an esoteric and self-expression enthusiast who takes part in the world as a creative vessel. His mind, filled with wisdom and authority. His heart, to the brim with passion and conviction. Victor pertains... to a dead perspective.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.