Poets logo

Contagion

Hurt People Hurt People

By NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice OliverPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like
Contagion
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

Goodbye to the days

That slowly drawled on

While we swam in the pool

And soaked in the sun.

-

Lots of smiles

Sips of beer

(I’d try to show off)

Taking a swig.

-

While I remember the screaming

After dinner time, a lot.

Remember the intensity

The anger

Oh, and my fear.

How badly I wanted you to stop.

-

I’d run to my room and

Cry crawled up in a ball,

Small…

Not much a little girl can do,

But feel it all.

-

The boys would come to comfort.

So “funny” how I can forget,

Yet now, I remember all the days,

The noise,

The words.

-

I still wonder why

Third grade, I’d wake up to you

Making me cry,

Every morning before school,

But you saw me in a letter.

-

Was it really me

That acted so badly?

Or did you need to

Be better?

-

Because now I do it too;

I do it too and it makes me hate me,

It makes me hate you.

It makes me hate and

Hate until someone feels it too.

-

He yelled at her and him,

Who yelled at him,

Who yelled at him,

Who yelled at me.

4 fathers cyclically

Accuse and I’ve no one,

Myself, to abuse.

Beat me up while I

Try to remain strong,

While you sing the song

“I’m crazy” as if,

It wasn’t you all along.

-

Now here I am learning

To unlearn, to try to quit,

Since I’ve spread it to someone else

That I too love, because this

Is how the story goes my dove.

-

Confusion is no

Illusion when you’re

Fearing who to hurt,

Burying them in the dirt,

While kissing the tears that

Endlessly ran down their shirt.

-

-

If you find this piece interesting, please consider leaving a ❤️ below, or even a tip. Your support means everything to me as a writer! You can also read more of my stories & poems by clicking on my page! xo

sad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

NikkiDeeFit | Nicole DeFelice Oliver

Welcome!

My goal is to evoke emotions, senses, & feelings through the power of language/words! I am a Poet & Writer, Certified Personal Trainer, & nature lover.

Your support/tip/subscribe means the world to me, enjoy!

https://nikkideefit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.