Poets logo

Construction

A Poem

By Fiachra O'Published 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

I worked with two Irishmen.

One had no hair on his knuckles from smoking cigarettes to the filter.

The other was my boss.

They had quick conversations.

The man with bald fingers always started them.

My boss would rather work in silence.

-You know Johnny Doyle?

-From the tunnels?

-No. He hangs out at the barracks.

-Yeah, I know him.

-Dead. 66 or 67. Three days before they found him.

My boss sipped his coffee and yelled,

Hot liquid still in his throat

-Bang the nails. Don’t fucking tap them!

It's hard to go from eavesdropping

To the center of a sentence,

Especially one that has been hurled at you

In the manner my boss's words whipped.

So, naturally,

I put the hammer through the wall after his suggestion,

But later learned to listen with my ears

Instead of my eyes.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Fiachra O'

I like writing about thoughts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.