Poets logo

Connection

Like always I fell ankles over my ears

By Emily E MahonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

So I'll write about you, and those of your ilk.

You and your eyes and your words of silk.

You gaze at me like you want to see in and when I open a crack you turn and spin.

I think that you like me you act like you do.

You want me when I don't want you.

Oh what'll I do when you are far away when you stop your calls and start to play the game that I hate, the push and the pull.

I rebel and don't play and eventually fall 'cause in the end you don't really want me at all.

Like always I fell ankles over my ears in "like" when I know it was lonely fears alone that made me forget my pride and spend that evening by your side.

My heart took to wondering and my daydreams too.

I could see me in a life with you.

Before I could stop I'd gone too far...

At last my love has come along...

But eventually it all felt wrong when the hours and days and weeks went by.

I'm a big girl and it's weak to cry but it hurt when you didn't even say goodbye.

So I'll write about you, or others of your ilk.

You and your eyes and your words of silk.

When you left did you mourn for at least a day?

C'est la vie I guess, it was all in good play.

Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps...

You will miss the touch of my soft lips when we meet again in a crowded room and I wave at you next to my happy groom.

Keep playing that game I'm sure it works in the smoky club where loneliness lurks.

Thank you for reading my story! I appreciate you taking the time to share in my literary journey. If you enjoyed this story, you can let me know by adding a "heart," or sharing your thoughts in the comments.

If you want to support my writing, check out my author profile for more articles, poetry, and short stories. Tips are never an obligation, however, they are always deeply appreciated!

Thank you again for your support.

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily E Mahon

My training is in vocal performance and I love the fact that I'm sharing my writing practice on a platform called "vocal." It's just too perfect. I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.