Poets logo

Connecting to You

Poem: Communication and Relationships

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Connecting to You
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

My eyes are stained,

with tears that stream,

from the blame,

you have attached my name,

But you see it completely different,

You see a change in the current,

an act of deterrence,

that I am dragging down your name,

you are seeking a source for the blame,

as if something is wrong in the action of speaking up,

As if criticisms roll off my tongue,

that my expectations are not the actions of love,

As if I believe you are not enough,

but you are unable to see it from my side,

you are turning a blind eye,

from the vulnerability I am trying to share with you,

You are acting like you are something I am comparing to,

instead of seeing the trust I invested in you to share,

where sex is more then me just being there,

that my connection to you is also something worth caring about,

because right now,

I know you want to make my eyes roll and pleasure me,

but you are avoiding being able to see, what I really need,

I need you to understand and respect me,

for sharing with you my insecurities,

instead of only the negativity against you,

Because this whole thing hurts me too.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.