Poets logo

Congruence

A Journey To Comfort

By Missy BananaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Congruence
Photo by Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

Moving through life in this body that never felt like mine

A mind that I never could be in charge of

Take notes, so I don’t stand out.

Smile more, be polite, male gaze.

Obstruction of air to my lungs, becomes my normal

It’s better this way, even if everything around me has become gray and dull

At least everyone else is comfortable.

Seeking refuge I find your art

My heart explodes, and screams we can’t live like this anymore

The cells of my body dance in rhythm

My eyes thirst for healing

Drinking in people who are just like me.

I cut my hair to see myself, to see me.

I move my arms to grab my notebook

And it’s the first time it feels like I am moving them myself.

The sigh of relief that comes from the darkest part of my belly

Flows out opening my airways ‘

and says

You’re finally here.

I pirouette through each day

Singing with the breeze

Loving harder

Crying more

Feeling everything

I never knew food could taste this good

Or sleep could be so restful

Reintroducing myself to my people

The coziness and ease

Into life that once felt so difficult

I swear I can see glitter in the sun.

inspirational

About the Creator

Missy Banana

I always dreamed of having an anonymous blog back in the blogging hey days. Maybe I missed the fad but I still crave a space to just exist. It probably isn't that anonymouse but it's wortha shot.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    That was incredible! Very relatable, feeling like you HAVE TO be a certain way, but finally waking up and realizing who you are and who you should be! I loved it!

Missy BananaWritten by Missy Banana

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.