Poets logo

Compositions of You and Me

Should've Realized

By EmPublished 5 years ago 7 min read
Like

*After everything went downhill...*

Where's the message?

Now I'm staring at my phone

Waiting for a text from you

Every single time it lights up

My heart skips a beat and I hold my breath

I read the name...and it's someone else...

Why?

Did I make the wrong decision?

I don't even know why I decided him anymore...

What's going on?

I hate myself so much sometimes...

What do I do?

Tell me...

Why is it that I'm looking for you around each and every corner now?

What have you done to my heart that now it waits for you?

What spell did you cast?

I want to know...

Because clearly I've lost my mind...

I don't know what's going on...

I'm sorry...

I'll say it a million times...

But why do I put my phone down and wait until I see a bright light insinuating someone messaged me...

Waiting until it says your nickname followed by your birthday...

I can't make it anymore obvious can I?

That I'm confused and don't know what to do anymore?

Not like I've ever known

But I felt safe with you

And now I'm anxious and confused...

You told me we have to gamble on life sometimes

But I now know this is a gamble I'm willing to take

What do you do when you're unsure if everything you want is in the person you chose?

When it might be in someone else..

Someone you know could treat you right

And you'll never have to second guess.

Never wonder what went wrong

Or what to do

Or whether or not to bring something up

Because they want to hear it all...

The good and the bad...

They don't want to change you, only enhance you...

What do you do?...

What do I do?...

Especially when I sat there all night...

Knowing all I wanted to do was kiss you one last time...

God! Fuck this...

Can't we just keep this cat and mouse game a little longer?

Why?

Why is it that I can't stop thinking?

Why can't I fight my thoughts to hold your arm and cuddle up with you?

Why is it that I can't fight my thoughts of kissing you?

Why is it that you're all that's on my mind now?

What is going on?

What's happening?

Why is it that all I want to do is cuddle up with you while you're gaming?

Stealing kisses in between and going back into my phone?

Why can't I do that?

Why can't I think of what to do?

What should I do?...

I don't want to put you in a worse situation...

One where you feel like you weren't enough to begin with...

Because in actuality you're more than I could ever ask for...

I hate myself sometimes...

What do I do?

Why do I want to wrap my arms around your neck and kiss you till my lips fall off?

Why can't I?

Why the fuck not?

Why is this so fucking hard?

Kill me now...

Just... why?

Why can I sit here and write but not tell you what I think?

Oh yeah...

Cause it doesn't matter...

Why do I want to cry myself to sleep at the thought of this right now?

Why is it that I can't trust myself anymore?

Fucking kill me...

It's been you...

Because it's you..

It's always been you..

But I never realized..

Until now...

Until the aftermath...

Until the end result...

Should've Listened...

My gut said it from the very beginning...

I should've listened...

I wouldn't have fallen for you if I really liked him that much...

If I felt like he wouldn't fuck up...

Or if I felt he was going to drastically change...

Crazy how things work...

Because the one you want isn't always the one you need...

But the one you need is always the one you end up wanting...

Us...

After everything I'm still here telling all my friends about you...

How much I want to be with you...

How bad I fucked up...

How I should've realized that everything I wanted was right in front of me

Telling them how I wish I noticed this from the very start..

Explaining things that I didn't even know I felt

Explaining how I don't even truly understand why I didn't automatically go to you

Telling them about everything since the summer...

Telling them about all the kisses

All the little moments

All the walks

All the cuddles

And our one time...

Telling them how you make me feel...

Showing them the words you've told me...

Answering questions that I've known the answers to without even knowing myself

Hurting You...

And then I finally realized I was running away...

I wasn't leaping at the chance to be with you because I was afraid of hurting you

I knew he would hurt me...

So I wasn't afraid...

I was ready to experience the pain...

But I hurt you...which I never meant to do...

I should've just said yes to you...

I should've been with you this entire time...

Can you hold me?

And we can pick things up...

Take things slow...

Focus on us like we should've been?

...

Guess not...

Why do you like him?

He understands me

He's patient and kind

He was willing to wait for me when I was dating D...

He's sweet and funny

He makes me smile just by being around

He always knows how to turn my day around

Things come so easy with him

I'm never forced to speak my mind right away if I don't have the words

He gives me time

He knows about my past and always tried to make sure I never feel that way again...

He made me promise him to never hurt myself again...

There was one night I was so tempted and he cried because he blamed himself for it.. .

But I could never blame him for anything, because it's not like him to hurt someone he cares about.

He's so down to earth and doesn't want a girl just for their body

He makes me feel beautiful, whenever I say I'm not he literally smacks my arm or leg or whatever and looks me square in the face and tells me I am

He takes his time and makes sure I'm okay with something, even if it's small

He makes it hard for me to think sometimes...

There are words I can't say to him because I get so nervous; he makes it hard for me to speak

He reads each and every one of my writings and actually loves them...

He doesn't want me to change who I am,

He wants me for me, flaws and all...

I wanna be... Let me be...

I wanna be your good morning kisses

I wanna be your first thoughts in the morning

I wanna be your "good night baby" texts

Your good night kisses

Your three in the afternoon "I miss you" texts

Your "I can't wait to see her" thoughts

Your three hour phone calls

Your head scratches

Your forehead kisses

I wanna be the girl you can't get out of your head

The one you brag to everyone about

The one you can never get enough of

The one you can't wait to take out

The one you want to see all dressed up

The one you want to do something cheesy and dumb with

The one you want to go exploring with

The one you take long train rides for

I want you to be the one I'll drive hours for to see for only five minutes

The one I want to hold when they're sad

The one whose arms I want to hold me when I can't stop myself from crying

The one I want to run to when I got the best news of my life

The one who I brag about to the world

The one I can't stop thinking of

The one who will get to know my parents

The one who will be willing to do these stupid crazy adventures with me

The one willing to travel the world with me

So why the fuck not?

I'm sorry for what I did...

I'm sorry for how it got to this...

But I've realized what I've done

And I've realized how it affected you...

And maybe I'm stupid or blind

But I should've seen you in front of me...

God damnit, why can't I stop myself from writing about you?

Why can't I pull you by the collar and kiss you?

Why can't I claim you as mine in front of everyone?

Oh right...

Because I fucked up...

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Em

I'm doing my best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.