Poets logo

Complexities

A Daily Reflection

By Sa'myaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image I captured while on my Universities' campus at the 'Turtle Pond'

A deep blue ocean.

Wondering what’s beneath,

wondering where it ends,

going beyond what your eyes can reach.

Do I even know myself?

You certainly don’t.

You get what I show you,

leave you with your thoughts.

Is the ocean even blue?

Or just a reflection of the sky,

that the bright yellow sun

transfers to your eyes?

The color blue incites extreme

emotion inside.

Deep blue.

Inside of my heart.

Not sadness,

but the ignition to start

on my journey to find myself.

Exploring the deep blue ocean.

There are more colors within,

but the deeper you go,

the less you’ll understand.

Because your eyes may become distorted.

The sun, no longer able to extend its light.

What may seem green,

could be empty,

white.

There is not just one shade to any color.

Just like me.

But I cannot be labeled to just one crayon,

I do not like to stay between the lines.

No limits, no boundaries, no labels.

Instead I flow free,

Like the deep blue ocean.

People love to sight see.

Inquire about my wonders.

What is your secret?

they ask,

not prepared for the answers.

Because there is not just one.

It’s an entire spectrum of blues.

Different hues, different shades, different names.

We are not the same.

Beautiful they are,

All of my complexities,

A deep blue ocean.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sa'mya

First generation college student that channels her emotion through writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.