Poets logo

Complacency and Love

Don’t Go Well Together

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16

The summers’ sun has come and gone

And left behind it rain

Cold winds beckon early snow

And icicles in the main.

*

My heart has frozen cold and white

Since you walked from my life

And took the sunshine from my soul

When I lost my beautiful wife.

*

From soul mates joined together

Forever till death do us part

Until you walked out our door

And pulled apart my heart.

*

Our bond had been forged as children

Then grew together organically

We parted the same way when you met someone else

And took your love away from me.

*

The warmth of your loving arms around me

Your beauty and your smile

Joined together in our bed

playful and tactile.

*

I thought this would be our forever

And for that, I am to blame

Becoming complacent with your love

My everlasting shame.

*

And so I wait out the winter chill

Until summer comes again

And I find another love

To wash away my pain.

_________________________

Thank you for taking the time to read my work.

If you enjoyed my piece, please consider clicking the little heart beside my name. Tips aren't necessary but would be most welcome.

If you are interested in reading more of my work, please click on my picture below.

**Image Source: https://www.pexels.com/photo/bench-nature-love-people-50592/ **

heartbreak
16

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.