Poets logo

Coming Home

Reality is…

By Melissa EavesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Coming Home
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

A subtlety

A well placed return

An elegance of posture

A glance

An unwritten history

By JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

A moonlight walk

As shadows stretch and roll

In the symphony of luminescence

That beckons me home

By Jordan McDonald on Unsplash

I am known to only have one lover

It is known that he is always mine alone

I am still the master of my craft however

For my sexual orientation is the least of a lifetime of

Carefully orchestrated skill sets

Cultivated

And

Coquettish

By Quino Al on Unsplash

I am not disrespected for promiscuity

Or fidelity

I am respected for me

For the precision and consistency

Laced with fresh and innovative insights

That brings the gold

For my unorthodox approach

For qualities that rate at the top

Of any logical thought

As well as for preservation of history

Adaptability

And The fucking blend of modern, cold, and heart

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I choose what I earn

And what I do not

I am not commanded

By any that I am not submissive to

Willfully

By SAKO Sarah Koenig on Unsplash

The carnival always comes in August or September

By Ethan Hoover on Unsplash

The bleak looks are never born by one such as myself

By Pro Church Media on Unsplash

My sensuality is contained by myself

Because I am worth every accommodation I ask.

By Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

I do not wail

I rarely ask

I watch

I contribute

I am golden.

And for whatever it’s worth

I am coming home to myself

And neither I nor anyone else cares about

These little flotsams and jetsams

Or their wants

By Jingming Pan on Unsplash

I am cold

I am calculating

I love myself

And humanity itself

I am one with the best

I am one

Resoundingly

Accurate

Unutterably appropriate

And beyond any proof

The ground is cold

The earth is sacred

Realities are kept

Preservation, insight, character, beauty, and skill sets, determine your worth in this life

Obedience is better than sacrifice

Is an maddeningly accurate statement

Because a love of humanity itself

Is better kept

Than a thousand dimly lit

Interests

By Jez Timms on Unsplash

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Melissa Eaves

I am an freelance writer. I love the written word and the poetry of my soul is expressed by mastery of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.