Poets logo

Coming Home

Seeds of Love

By Rick Henry Christopher Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
31
Parts of this image are from FreePik

I was put on this journey

My vessel wailing and whirring

Drifting through invisible

Drifting through the air

≈≈≈

Full grown from a wandering seed

My feet have rooted

They are planted

But tangled in the weeds

≈≈≈

I've progressed through this desert

On roads that are treacherous

My clothes are torn and smell afoul

I haven't the will to wash them

≈≈≈

I'm on the run

Running from that hope of light

In my hand my heart is pounding

I'm hiding from the sun

≈≈≈

Living in the dark

Hiding in the night

My heart is rigid

Gritty like the sand

≈≈≈

I care not for anything

My shadow in the dark

Away from love

In obscure

Running from the promise

≈≈≈

I am restless

I need to keep moving

Dressed in darkness

Dressed in gloom

The walls are caving in

I've reached a dead-end in this maze

≈≈≈

Repeating lost

Repeating lost

I am in a haze

≈≈≈

Are you there?

I cannot see you

The fog is very thick

≈≈≈

No beginning and no end

But I hear you calling

Through the chambers

Through the black hole

It all seems so intense

≈≈≈

I hear a whisper in the breeze

But I refuse to listen

Distant roads are calling

I don't want to answer

My ears are burning

They are aching

Deaf to the voices from the clouds

≈≈≈

There are signs all over me

In unexpected places

But I just keep on going

Past the beauty and the sunshine

≈≈≈

After years of running

My mind is scorched

My legs have worn

I'm in pain

And I am crawling

My throat is parched

I need a drink

≈≈≈

Up ahead

It seems so far

I see a paradise

A river streaming to a lake

I've finally reached the shore

≈≈≈

The air is still

The birds are quiet

I hear the water running

A stream of beauty in my view

I run to see tranquility

≈≈≈

Kneeling by the glistening water

I cup my blistered hands

With this drink I am refreshed

An infant born from death

≈≈≈

The road's been long

The desert dry

But I am home again

The seeds of love were planted here

And now I see them growing

surreal poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalart
31

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Ahamed Thousifabout a year ago

    Nice Work

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Such a hurtful journey leading to hope and promise. Totally enjoyed the journey.

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Wow, what a journey this poem takes you on! Such strong visuals! Subscribing, good sir!

  • Adam Stanbridgeabout a year ago

    Powerful imagery. Loved it.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Excellent used of words for imagery 😊

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Hi there, I really enjoyed your poem. I’m a sucker for a bit of hope when it feels like there is none at times. 😊 I just joined this group so not too sure if I have read anything of yours before.. I just read your mini bio though and reasons for writing and I responded to that a lot; there’s definitely a healing, a cleansing and “emotional release” to writing. Thanks for sharing.

  • “In my hand my heart ❤️ is pounding❗”😉Great job Rick❗❗❗✨❤️

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    You’ve told quite a story with this poem! Nicely done

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    A very emotional piece...you could feel your emotions bleeding off the page. Lovely work :)

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Outstanding!!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This was beautiful, raw, and emotional — all in one!! Wonderful job!! ❤️

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    Nice job! Your words invite the reader to walk alongside the poet, experiencing the trials and triumphs of his journey. Powerful ending and so well expressed!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    This was a raw piece and I love how you broke it in a way that allows us to contemplate each stage of your (and by extension our) journey. Beautifully executed 😄

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    ❤️This was really a beautiful way to express so many emotions and it flowed very naturally and freely. I love this style!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Love it. You have stumbled upon a great form for epxressing yourself!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    bravo Rick this was full of so much raw emotion and great word choices!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Excellent poem Rick.

  • This was quite an emotional journey. Loved the ending, very inspirational!

  • JANE AYUabout a year ago

    Beautiful Poem

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Intense. Nice imagery :)

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    You could really feel the emotion in this. Well done! This poem grabs you from the first line and holds on for the rest of the journey

  • JBazabout a year ago

    You feel alot of the writers emotions in this piece. Very well crafted.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    The last two lines pulled at my heart. Well done ❤️

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Beautifully written! So many emotions successfully captured in one piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.