Poets logo

Coming Home

Road trip.

By Terri RosallPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Coming Home
Photo by Dino Reichmuth on Unsplash

On the road again.

Time to pac k up the car and head on out this state that I call home now.

State by state I will be closer to the place that I called home.

Miles will be slow but I know when I am home those miles will forth that wait.

Getting closer and closer by the hour.

Eight states I will travel to make it back to the place that I belong and long to be at all the time.

Look, Look the plates have changed to my state.

Soon I will place my head on the pillows in the house that I grew up in.

Wondering what the neighborhood will look like Will it be the same as I left it 6 years ago.

Give a few hours and then it will turn to minutes and finally to the driveway that I can park this car with different state licenses plate on.

I see the house in my mind now and it looks the same as it did when as I was leaving it 6 years ago to begin a new life in a new state.

I am home, I am home.

I can't get this car unpacked quick enough to get back in my old house.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.