Poets logo

Comforting My Soul

A Poem

By Rob GauthierPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Comforting My Soul
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

A walk through autumn falling leaves

The forest all around me burns

Its foliage bright like sunset beams

Fall gently, softly rustling

The path beneath me slowly turns

And strays amongst the old oak trees

Where nature the warm summer mourns

And brisk cool winds come blustering

It’s this my soul finds comforting

Some time alone my mind to clear

To listen to fair nature’s song

Of mourning doves, and songbird’s cheer

And feisty squirrel’s chattering

A wandering brook to wade along

The cool eve air my only peer

No need to fit in nor belong

When nature is so welcoming

It’s this my soul finds comforting

A fire burning on the hearth

That warms away the midnight chill

The sweet damp smell of sodden earth

And gentle rainfall pattering

A reading chair next to the sill

A grand adventure full of mirth

Black coffee sips to cure all ills

And distant storm clouds thundering

It’s this my soul finds comforting

A winters gale, an arctic storm

That hides the earth ‘neath blankets white

The landscape dressed as if to prom

With icy crystals shimmering

My cozy quilts make cold take flight

And in my bed it’s safe and warm

The wind that howls all through the night

Sings peace into my slumbering

It’s this my soul finds comforting

Buds on the trees and bright green grass

A cool spring morn as daylight breaks

The water surface smooth as glass

Like emerald gemstones glistening

A rod and reel and fish to take

While hours like minutes quickly pass

Better a day out on the lake

Than e’en the best spent laboring

It’s this my soul finds comforting

Yet through the best of these I find

That all like vapor slip away

The joy they bring we cannot bind

They fade like ruins crumbling

Yet this I know will ever stay

That I am Christ’s and he is mine

I know I’ll walk with him one day

Where streets like gold are glittering

My spirit finds this comforting

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rob Gauthier

For me, a good story is the best thing in life. It doesn't matter the genre or the style of the author, give me a good story, and I'm happy. That's why I do this, I'm a storyteller at heart. I hope you enjoy my musings.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.