Poets logo

Comfort Taking Over

The Mind is dulled

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Comfort Taking Over
Photo by Fernando Reyes on Unsplash

Colourful lights dim and misshapen

floating from afar, resembling lanterns

each a thought that just might awaken

one after the other in mesmerising patterns

-

Walking down the road of intensifying intentions

instinctual and inventive

intellectual and infective

forever, always productive

But

the lanterns are dimming

thoughts are all but thinning

around the mind just spinning

melting into the ether... forever lost

-

Twinning halos and horns with every thought

each bisected into the useful and the misleading

the useful forlorn and diverted into ceding

to procrastination

-

As they say, embers need nurturing to grow into a magnificent fire, just as a question needs nurturing to bloom into a complete thought

clouds of doubt may come and blow away useful thoughts, leaving a seed shrivelled, drifting in darkness

who knows when it'll be watered and cared for... is it lost forever?

how can I water it? how can I succeed?

thoughts are calling to me but I feel so weak

pointless thoughts spring up to take over

my mind dulled and comfort reins over

my mind...dulled

comfort

take over

slam poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryinspirationalFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Shauna Mullen4 months ago

    This is such a hard hitting poem! Thank you for sharing this

  • This was so sad. Hope you're okay. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    I really like this! The word play is really good.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    I feel like I just got a look inside your brain!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.