Poets logo

Comfort

In Hues of Green

By Sunshine on Brown SkinPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
6
An unexpected woodland on a sunny day.

Ne'er had I contemplated the existence of fathomless shades of green.

Until I conceded my gaze toward the woodland.

Free were the leaves to choose where they lay on spectrum.



And choose, they did.

From viridescent and lime, to pea and emerald, to olive and forest...



Chroma and value be damned.

Vast were the hues.

Boundless were the flora.



I longed to be that autonomous.

Liberally wrapping myself in nothing, save my natural sum and substance.

Offering no qualms to whether or how I'm received.



Content to let others interpret as they willed.

While foliage preserved epidermal and mesophyllial authorship.

Ahhh, to find comfort in fierce holism.

Suddenly disheveled by hope.

The uncertainty of unexplored terrain grappling with the safety of familiarity.

Emancipation eclipsing fear.

>>>

Fight or flight.

Moments of unyielding turmoil.

Complex are the dirt and weeds of cataclysmic burgeoning.

>>>

Fight or flight.

Reviews of whether verdure's brilliance is sufficient, echoing relentlessly.

Aware that season-induced pruning drew nigh.

>>>

Fight or flight.

Opting out of opting out.

Intuitively unearthing a diverging path.

At long last, agreeing with creation's landscape and my own inner wild.

The kaleidoscopic verdant of my own amassing entity.

No longer teetering over external judgment.

My quintessence having shed popular opinion, and rooted out defeatist internal dialogue.

Mentally transposing negative for promise.

Now, wading through this serenity's intrinsic peace.

Unposited, this space of organic liberation bringing about an ethereal connection to true-self.



Allowing me to encounter pace that suited my composition.

Greedily wondering if it were possible to live this valiantly...

Present at all times, within the season at hand.



Until this generous wood unveiled itself, green was ne'er provocation.

Nevertheless, here we are.

Fortuitously precipitating the embrace of my inner-man.



Contentedness bridging possibility to manifestation.

And now, musing unimaginably, while breathing in harmony within indigenous surroundings.



Being- unrestrained.

Wholeness of an uninterrupted identity.

Wrapped in the comfort of purely existing.

Unbridled and ever-green.



nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Sunshine on Brown Skin

Writing offers an atmosphere of peace, connecting me to my Creator and human experience. The release is freeing and keeps me tethered to my true-self. Reminding me- I'm enough, I'm capable, I'm loved. Freeing others into the same truth.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • dewayne cheyney2 years ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed this piece. Your descriptions are so vivid.

  • Vranes Samaha2 years ago

    Well written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.