Poets logo

Comfort is...

Disguised in little, stolen moments.

By K.M. DallasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Comfort is...
Photo by Ray Mon on Unsplash

Fingertips soaking up warmth from the fur of a sunbathing cat.

The soft trill sounds a content feline makes at the gentle show of affection.

An absent brush of a dog’s nose against my calf as I walk.

The need for some part of a loyal four-legged friend to touch me as he sleeps.

Waves lapping at my ankles as I stand there and sink into the sand.

The smell of saltwater lingering in the cool breeze, along with seagulls.

Embracing a friend after removing the great distance between us.

The cherished memories that are born of those irreplaceable first moments.

Unconditional love freely given without the expectation of change.

The safe space created from earned trust and proven accommodations.

Self-acceptance after a lifetime of struggling through social definitions.

The confidence in being who I am without doubting my place in the world.

Pure euphoria, that feels as warm as the fur of the cat in the window.

The innate happiness of compersion in watching people I love live their best lives.

list
3

About the Creator

K.M. Dallas

I'm a 40-year-old polyamorous, Dominant, trans man (he/him), and Satanist. I'm also a fiction writer with a very spicy mind thanks to ADHD & Autism. I take on romance/erotica commissions when time allows & ghostwrite professionally.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.