Poets logo

Comfort is a Funny Word

A poem on comfort

By Ada ZubaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Comfort is a Funny Word
Photo by Suad Kamardeen on Unsplash

Comfort is a funny word. The simple word is already a feeling of relief. I am sitting on a beach, I can feel the warmth of the sun hitting my untanned body. I have nothing to do. Call me lazy sure, but the doing of nothing is the best feeling in the world. I took off my watch, not paying attention to the time as it flies by. That is the best feeling. Having no responsibilities no where to be just to sit on a beach. The sand between my toes as I repeatedly dig my feet in and slowly raise them to the surface. The smell of sunscreen is everything that I need to remind me it is summer. Having a mojito brought to me and then the salty taste of chips and the satisfying crunch is perfect. The smell of the ocean reminds me that freedom is still here with me, I do not need to try anymore. I do not need to hide my body or be ashamed of who I am. I have no one telling me what I can and cannot wear, it is just me being free. No worries in the world. The job is so far I forget that it exists, I no longer have to think and problem solve. I don’t have to think, I am so irresponsible and it feels so great. This is what it feels for retirement. No commitment. The only thing I have committed to is to do nothing. My phone lays beside me in my purse untouched for hours. I look out to the ocean and the rolling waves are imperfect yet the sound is everything I need.

Comfort is a funny word. One word and you feel at ease. It is waking through a field on a hot summer's day and sweat is running down your back, then that first sip of water changes your mind and it is bliss. The sun is shining and beautiful. The touch of bare feet on soft easy grass. It is laughing so hard that your head reels back. It is laying down on the grass on your favourite blanket and watching butterflies flitter by and above all it is doing nothing. No responsiblities at all. It is perfect.

art

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ada ZubaWritten by Ada Zuba

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.