Poets logo

Comfort in the Words

Poem: How Comfort translates into writing for me

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Comfort in the Words
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

In the words that I breathe,

My mind brings comfort to me,

I ponder thoughts across pavements,

Ideas spread through lyrical notes,

I listen to others speak,

And my words speak back to me,

I find solace in my secrecy,

My mind is always wondering,

Where the only release,

Is my writing,

A serum to my soul,

Expressed complexity making me feel whole,

Identifying the unexplainable,

I find comfort is the creation of expression,

Relinquishing all of my questions,

Coming to learn my own lessons,

Through words,

The words on a page,

Helps me gage,

Where my thoughts really are,

A collection of all my scars,

A place where I can process where to start,

Writing deciphers my monologues,

Creates clarity in times of fog,

Identifies feelings to acknowledge,

Often pulls me back from being on the edge,

Writing gives me the comforts of understanding,

Grounds my thoughts to be able to see a landing,

It stands to never judge,

Recenters who and what I love,

It guides me away from the nonsense,

Shows me a world through a different lens,

Helps me realize the comfort in myself by the end,

Gives me the capability to be my true self again.

I find true comfort in the words,

Because ultimately, my writing makes me feel heard.

performance poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.