Poets logo

Comfort in the Chaos

Patterns in the Random

By Nichole CampbellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I've never been embraced by a soul that loves me

I'm not sure I, myself, could be dubbed as loving

And I don't believe there's a God above me

So what do I find comforting?

I started polls

Entertained a few trolls

On my journey to understand

Why most seemed to agree

Comfort is widely in the human hand

I found the definition

and read it aloud clearly

This is when I came to see

Comfort is safeties mission

It's a cool breeze

When the heat is just about to break you

It is achieving something

You never thought you could do

Comfort is lying on your back with nobody around

Feeling only the vibration rumbling beneath you in the ground

Catching that orange, red, and yellow glimpse of Fall's first victims dancing towards the earth

As she takes back that which she once gave birth

Comfort is the patterns in the pattern

The "it definitely matters..."

In the "it doesn't even matter..."

Comfort is simply in the knowing

Knowing that if you just keep going

Every burn, every death, every Fall

Really will too end, they're just seasons, after all

But if I have to break it down to just one of these

Comfort is certainly when the heat has you on your knees

And you feel the "I got you" in the cool, cool, breeze

artinspirationalnature poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Nichole Campbell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Robert Cowley2 years ago

    I really like the “comfort is the patterns in the pattern” line, it’s all well done but I like that one especially.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.