Poets logo

Comfort in People

Are You a Good Friend?

By Amy HallPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Comfort in People
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

A person will cause a ripple in time,

A blessing or a stain; that decision is not mine.

They come and they go, but a blessing will stay,

They will sit down, hold your hand and with you, they will pray.

They will cause you little grief,

Their presence will not be brief.

Cheer for you they will,

If intentions are not ill.

Some will try to cheat you and abuse,

They will act like a comrade but simply just use.

Fear not because you will learn who they are,

Hopefully, a true pal will never be far.

Let me tell you what type of friend I would rather,

The thoughtful kind, who show me I matter.

Kindness, compassion, forgiveness and empathy;

Patience, respect, acceptance and loyalty.

The world around can be dripping with hate,

I pray for a friend that I can relate.

One with honesty, consideration and gratitude,

A friend that is not purposely rude.

In return I will be all of these things,

And with hope, I can’t wait to see what our future brings!

inspirationalsocial commentary
2

About the Creator

Amy Hall

I have written since a little girl. With love for story telling, I was eager to learn how to write, so I could piolet my own adventures! I finally am pursuing as a career but have no idea where to start! Consider subscribing! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise Willis2 years ago

    I subscribed so I can read more. Loved this, as I am not a poet but tried, lol. Keep up the good work!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.