Poets logo

Comfort from an aberrant source

What makes me feel the most myself

By douglas wolossPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Comfort from an aberrant source
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

You can keep your sunshine.

Keep the waves at the beach, dancing against the golden sand.

Keep your lattes, be they pumpkin spice or otherwise.

Keep your books plenty, as I have no need for those words.

Keep your endless holidays, piped full of anxiety and stress with a laugh or two sprinkled in to keep things balanced.

Keep what makes you happy and leave me the rest.

Leave me the storms that rage in the sky.

Leave me the thunder that shakes the walls to their core.

Leave me the lightning that illuminates my mind like the shadow-stricken landscape before me.

Leave me the endless rain, so it can wash away all the negative energy that peppers my soul.

Leave me the foggy walks on the cracked stone walkways avoided by everyone else.

Leave me the deep embrace of the forest, where home is as foreign as the concrete it was built upon. Where the crunch of decaying leaves on the undisturbed floor wrap around me like an embrace from a long-forgotten friend.

Leave me midnight.

Leave me in silence.

I found peace here.

I found comfort, in the chaos of it all.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.