Poets logo

Comfort

Black and White

By Joe LucaPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
3
Image from Pexels - by Pritam Kumar

Take away the colors,

just leave the black and white.

Quiet all the beating drums,

remove the flutes and horns from sight.

Silence all the random thoughts

that keep entering my mind.

And let me rest for a single moment

as my hurried world unwinds.

.

Take away the harsh remarks,

petty slights that cut so deep.

Quiet all the critics now who

torment as I sleep.

Trim the trees, remove the trash,

let the sunlight enter please.

Just let me rest for a single moment

as I pray upon these knees.

.

Lift the weight that held me down

take the pain that gripped my heart.

Change the sounds from my old name

to lend a brand new start.

Break the chains that shadowed me

and altered who I saw.

Just let me rest for a single moment

to find the comfort I knew before.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Joe Luca

Writing is meant to be shared, so if you have a moment come visit, open a page and begin. Let me know what you like, what makes you laugh, what made you cry - just a little. And when you're done, tell a friend. Thanks and have a great day.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    I too wrote about black and white. I loved your piece. Hearted and subscribed.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!! Left a heart & subscribed!!💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.