Poets logo

Comfort

In prayer I seek it, and it seeks me

By Daniya AliPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Comfort
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

It is a mystery for those who seek it, for it does not follow a norm,

But it comes to the needy in different forms,

On gloomy days when the heart is glum,

perhaps a chocolate cake might do the trick, it might numb

The pain the comes with a broken heart,

tired of the false promises the world has to offer,

Of eternal bliss, whispering I am the owner, the author,

Of my own life, and that is world is my possession, and mine only,

But yet when it is placed in the palm of my hand, I feel lonely,

It is then I realize that it is devoid of my mother's embrace,

When the heart gets heavy,

I prostrate to my Lord and cry,

And now matter how weak I get, He chases me and graces me

with a quick reminder that the world will pry

On my vulnerability, and that no amount of wealth can bring me solace,

This world has nothing but to offer jealousy, greed, and malice,

in a glittery chalice, all an illusion

And that one day this façade will end,

I will be standing in front of Him, my only true friend,

who called me towards Him, during the night, and day,

when nothing brought me peace, and the worries did not go away,

He told me to pray, and raise my hands,

And sent ease my way,

I feel a burden being lifted off my chest, the path becomes clear,

I can now see,

In prayer I seek it, and it seeks me.

sad poetryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.