Poets logo

Colourful Sestina

A poem of my rainbowed truth

By Issie AmeliaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
6
Found on google on pngtree: free backgrounds

Colourful Sestina

Gold leaves puddle near edges of my rainbow

and every star glistens brightly, mine glows pink

haze shrouds inside monsters from my dream.

When I speak, I fib and betray my truth.

If my animal waddles, my spirit shakes unicorn

fur below breaths that escape into shattered earth.

Moons flounder, abandoning me on ancient earth

to rot in the glittery vomit of a shifty rainbow

crooked lines, unnatural curves of my blurred unicorn;

meteors dot, slowly seeping bloodied and pink.

If I wake, the only part waiting holds truth

of a cynical cliche – it disappears all to the dream.

What could happen, but a cloud drifting on a dream?

My solid footing wobbles, buried in the earth

as gravel slips, ripping me from skinned truth.

I don’t run from pocket eruptions. Nowhere to go, not a rainbow.

It bends and pushes from straight lines into sunsets so pink

that saturn’s skies bloom into the constellation of a unicorn.

Who my identity is – not chooses – depends on the unicorn,

but if I see it, could that destroy the meaning of my dream?

It captures me, steals me, paints my nails pink …

then frees me from underneath beds like ravaged earth.

Oil flows with water and sun, shimmering a rainbow,

dazzling societal, theoretical, theatrical truth.

Deniers ignore and fail at hiding from truth,

from either Jupitor or college, they wish to love a unicorn,

no matter the angle of lines, habitating inside the rainbow.

Nightmares fall prey to indigo dreams.

I live on the same planet, but a different earth:

a world where everyone wears pink.

No interesting conflict to sear through a glaze of pink,

unexpected of me to soil my own truth

because of frightened religions who claim it as their earth.

I may sway between alien or unicorn –

but from Pluto to Mars, I live my siamese dream,

no matter physically born, of desiring under the rainbow.

I definitely don’t adore a pink unicorn

but the truth of a colourful space, remains of mine a dream

that all variations on earth will live as a rainbow.

inspirational
6

About the Creator

Issie Amelia

She has a Master in Creative Writing, Publishing and Editing from University of Melbourne, and Bachelor in Creative writing from George Washington University.

She currently teaches yoga, Pilates and boxing fitness in Melbourne, Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.