Poets logo

colors

life

By Eudell WattsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

“Color”

It was just a simple valentine!

I gave it to her as a little guy thinking she was a friend of mine.

She told her “Pops” and I found he wasn’t so kind.

He showed up on our doorstep looking for my”Pops” in a very short time.

As early teens we shared stares and smiles, how lame, but I had only myself to blame.

Later I brought her to the high school dance only to have my catholic school friends look at us askance.

”How dare you wear such fancy pants!”

Well, I only wanted to be like them.

Those holy classmates always so proper and prim.

Now grown and still the loving pair yet stopped by the blue most everywhere.

you see much to our despair

None of this is going away,

Oh yes. My brown skin is here to stay.#

Eudell Watts lll

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Eudell Watts

Former business owner, college basketball coach/student counselor. Currently, award winning chef, story teller and children's book writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.