Poets logo

Colors

A Poem About Adonis

By Adonis RichardsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Image credit to DavidRockDesign on pixabay

Crimson is the color that I wish defined me

I love the diversity that symbolizes red,

Life and death both come to the mind when

red is defined.

Life is the liberty of creation and vibrations

on levels equivalent to the troposhpere.

The radiant experience I deliver to people,

The fervor of love I seek, all comes from

the vermillion color I breathe.

death arises from the concept of blood,

evil and all that which is scary.

Yet red is so noticable

cerise is the color of love,

though painful it can also be fruitful,

and cherished.

However, the first color you think

of when you see me is brown.

because of my skin.

Although it is a blessing

to be encased in melainin

I fear constantly that

my body can be

encased in ruby liquids

from silver hollow tips

that penetrate it.

That there, is the death I see.

For red, though my favorite color,

can also be the only thing you see

in a fate that too many have been.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Adonis Richards

An aspiring writer and journalist looking to motivate people through my writing and poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.