Poets logo

Colors From the Shadows

For fellow Trans-people living in the shadows

By EJ ArundelPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
21
Colors From the Shadows
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

I am a great pretender,

only due to my conformity.

My willingness to surrender,

to be what other’s want to see.

Survive within the shadows,

to fight the battle all alone.

Pretend so no one sees or knows,

the secret that I feel and own.

But why do I pretend?

Bend the knee to deepest fears?

From the darkness should ascend,

my true-self to shine so clear.

Don’t attune to other’s wants,

Cast aside your doubts of yore.

You’ll face hates and taunts,

and rudeness by the score.

But with the power of loved one’s vaunts,

shine your colors forever more.

inspirational
21

About the Creator

EJ Arundel

A storyteller, world creator, poet, and aspiring bestselling author. When I'm not writing, I'm usually thinking about writing and creating new stories. However, I also enjoy movies, traveling, and supporting my LEGO addiction.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 months ago

    This was written so beautifully! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Ro12 months ago

    i like it

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Beautifully written, and I empathize and support you to be you. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this!!! I am glad that you are here❤

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    A beautiful piece. No one should have to hide who they are. It's a tragedy that anyone has to feel this way at all. Thank you for sharing :)

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    💖Trans rights! 🏳️‍⚧️

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    All the intense hatred and disgust I keep seeing from people avoit transgender stuff kills me inside It does make me want to hide it more. Thank you for writing this. It helps!

  • Farhan Mirza 12 months ago

    awesome

  • Judey Kalchik 12 months ago

    Congratulations!

  • Precious piece💖✨💖Congratulations on your Top Story❗🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.