Poets logo

Coloring Outside the Lines

A poem about discovery

By J. LeePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
5
Coloring Outside the Lines
Photo by Jack B on Unsplash

First,

I was pink-

The softness of a petal;

The glow of a sunrise;

The calm of a sunset;

The sweetness of cotton candy;

Pink, and nothing else.

-

Then,

I considered blue-

The velocity of the ocean;

The depth of the sky;

The coolness of mints;

The whispers of the wind;

Blue, but it just wasn't true.

-

However,

I hoped to be purple-

The savoriness of a plum;

The majesty of royals;

The beauty of violets;

The freedom of a butterfly;

Purple, somewhere in between.

-

But at the time,

We just weren't known;

I had to face the "truth."

No one could be purple-

Only pink or blue-

And I didn't even get to choose.

-

So Pink I was,

At least outside,

But it just didn't feel right.

I dressed in black;

I hid my myself-

Shoved into a box not mine.

-

Not so far off,

Not too far down the line,

I looked around;

I figured out

There lie some other colors-

They were simply divine!

-

Purple fit,

Just differently-

Alongside a few others.

White like fresh snow;

Grey like mist;

Black like space;

I finally found a place.

Myself, 24/2/2020

Knowing this,

I looked around,

And found others like myself.

We shared this flag;

We all belonged;

But something still felt... off.

-

I knew this was me,

But how could it be

That I still felt confined?

The box around me,

Breaking down,

My true colors still undefined.

-

Later on,

I stumbled upon

A discovery so profound-

Asexuality is still me,

But what about the binary?

-

Pink or blue-

Which is true?

The option can be yours.

But those of us,

Others like myself,

Just don't fit like most do.

-

So, pink or blue?

Or something else

I thought we couldn't be?

But yes we can!

A whole rainbow of sorts,

Just waiting to be seen.

-

I searched around the pile,

Trying to find my name.

Uncovering one after another,

Until finally,

There it was!

With a touch of green,

This time.

-

Black as my clothes;

Grey as a goose;

Green as a grasshopper;

Grey as a storm;

Black as my heart;

Image received from: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/621637554814750323/

I finally found my flag.

Not pink-

Not blue-

But something true,

Beyond the box not mine.

-

With this revelation,

I had some work to do.

I tossed away the breaking remains

Of the pink box I had lived through.

-

I crafted a new one-

With green;

With purple;

With black and white and grey-

If I had to live in any box,

This time it'd be my way.

-

I'm happier now;

I've found myself;

I'm living life like me.

As it turns out,

Unearthing my true colors

Absolutely set me free.

Image received from: https://twitter.com/betransnb

_______________________________________

*If you liked this poem, give it a heart or a share!

Any and all hearts, shares, and donations are greatly appreciated and help me continue to grow. Thank you!*

inspirational
5

About the Creator

J. Lee

French enthusiast, non-binary trans person, artist, writer, lover of animals, space, and the right for every living thing to experience their existence authentically.

Pronouns: they/them (English) iel (French)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.