Poets logo

Color of the Soul

Once Upon a Time when We were Blind

By Susana's WorldPublished about a year ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2023
43
Color of the Soul
Photo by Dakota Roos on Unsplash

Here I stand in front of the mirror, two of me.

One inside the shiny glass, one outside. Living in the margins of a world gone crazy.

The reflection of time under the sun, hoping to turn golden brown like maple syrup on griddle cakes. Like you.

We were young watching the colors swirl in and out of life. Laughing on the Ferris Wheel, walking sawdust roads to the smells and sounds of summertime America.

When forever was forever, and cotton candy stuck to our fingers on the fourth of July.

These facial lines beyond my years hold your youthful acceptance in the dusty corners of my mind, as once I held your cheek. Smooth as molasses in the glow of the midnight moon, you were the dark to my light.

Loving my translucent skin that lay beside the beauty of your heart, we knew each other's smile, heard each other's words become a story.

And I am still pale as you are dark, but we still know the truth.

Somewhere in time we remember the only color that ever mattered; the only color we ever saw before somebody said we did not.

Was a Beautiful Soul.

Thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed my last book "If I Saw You on Sunday" which was a fundraiser for a school in Mexico, I am currently working towards another book of my collective writings and have joined Vocal to help with the cost.

If you enjoyed the story enough to feel like adding to the "Tip" jar for my next endeavor, thank you & know I am ever grateful!

If you are here just simply enjoying a read, I am ever grateful for the support.

Please feel free to sign up for notifications on any new stories with your email. Safe & free!

Salud!

surreal poetry
43

About the Creator

Susana's World

It is here I write about things that matter to me, and perhaps to you.

My words journey backward, forward and in-between, musing at this crazy but still beautiful world I was placed in.

For now.

Time is precious, so thanks for joining me!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabile11 months ago

    Wow beautifully written, really paints a picture I can see. Loved this, subscribing now!

  • AngelBeeabout a year ago

    I love how beautifully descriptive this poem is. This poem is also a beautiful way of explaining love between two people of different colors.

  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    My oh my. This is beautiful.

  • Robert Jacksonabout a year ago

    Beautiful

  • Madison Newtonabout a year ago

    Beautiful message and beautifully written!

  • Very emotionally evocotive, I got the chills! Love the word play and images.

  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Beautiful poem. I love the last line. A beautiful soul is the only colour we should see.

  • Roni Risayabout a year ago

    how to create a poetry a paragraph with 4 lines?

  • Michael Ellisabout a year ago

    “To the smells of Summertime in America” gave me goosebumps, so many vivid memories of summer time. Beautifully written poem!

  • The Wordsmith Chroniclesabout a year ago

    Really meaningful and Good Work!

  • Lori Meltonabout a year ago

    Wow, this is breathtaking! Congrats to you! ❤️

  • Rey Visionaryabout a year ago

    Great writing!!! Expecting more🧡

  • aly suhailabout a year ago

    Great work 👍👍

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    This is a Beautiful, calm, serendipitous, creation that expresses an enviable relationship in poetry. Magnificent writing. 🥰

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Wow, this was really beautiful and I loved your descriptions throughout ❤️

  • Nice❤️💯🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.