Poets logo

Color of a soul

Doused.

By Claire GuérinPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
6
Color of a soul
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Drowned in the abyss.

You doused my pyre to embers,

With words, cold water.

__________________________________________________________________

If you liked this poem, you might also like...

3 simple ways to support my writing, for free

  1. Share with loved ones.
  2. Follow me on Instagram.
  3. Subscribe to my newsletter.

heartbreaksad poetrysocial commentary
6

About the Creator

Claire Guérin

I write speculative fiction and poems. I dream of becoming a published, full-time author. If you like my short stories and poems on Vocal, share them, follow me on Instagram and subscribe to my newsletter! More about me here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    So compact, yet a colorful and illustrative impact of pain. Words cut, but words can drown. Masterful analogy. 🥰🥲

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Hauntingly beautiful. Nice work!

  • R. J. Raniabout a year ago

    So much imagery! This is simply beautiful, Claire.

  • SC Wellsabout a year ago

    Oh wow! This was fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.