Poets logo

Color me pink!

The color of strength...

By ShystarPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Yellow was the color when I was a child.

It was my happy and my color of wild.

Red was the color of my teens,

of every thing rebellious, of everything free.

Then came black

shrouding me in dark.

It was the time I wanted to hide, and be obscure so no one can find.

White was the color when love came to my life.

It brought peace and reasons to strive,

till the color purple showed up in a crib.

Becoming a mom became my best ever gig.

But the color she chose was blue

because that described her persona too.

While I was enjoying the motherhood,

I was hit with the postpartum grays.

Took each ounce of me while I earned to live each day.

And soon again our lives were filled with green,

She came to our lives like a lightening,

and filled our lives with rainbow.

Now somedays I am orange,

till it became a political no-no.

Maybe a brown

when I am really down

Or Magenta when am fun

and teal when am out on a run.

Yet, the color I see

that describe me

is Pink.

Its my strength, my courage,

my fear, my weakness,

my fashion statement,

my running mileage,

my Mom-ness,

my sassiness,

My humor, my sarcasm,

my kindness, my compassion.

it is the color that

has grown with me,

Pink is not a girl color.

It is the color of strength and power

And I would have that rather!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Shystar

A mom who storytells her way into parenting, a runner who forms her poetry while she is peaking at her heartrate, an engineer who on her break forms her thoughts into words

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.