Poets logo

Color Me

by TanYah Global

By TanYah GlobalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Photo by Jacob Kiesow Unsplash

Rewarding the warrior in me,

A princess fighting to be free,

The black brazen bronze undying me,

The me that darkness sucked in but spat right back out,

Cause it just didn't agree,

Yup that colored me,

Photo by Efe Kumaz Unsplash

Forced living in the lively grey dimension,

Maneuvering systemic foot suffocating oppression,

Compromising religion,

Glory to the spirit in me,

Flaming fire truth defiant me,

The fighting warrior who resiliently resides in a broken me,

Brown skin in black life,

After being attacked as wife,

Woman, mother, girl stifling,

Choking masked air and yet arising me,

Arose up to stand to fight to be free,

Being what they said I couldn't be,

Saw me one day ahead,

Not dead,

Looked like a rainbow and smelt like the rain,

Washed me right off till I was fully sane,

Smiling at the biting fear,

While crying at the laughing spear,

Pride pushing pulse faster,

Breath paced to stride as master,

Above I am and below I am,

Proud to be when to be was,

Was I then now perpetually human,

Only lingering waiting in the shadows to be a new one,

I am colored rainbow brightly splashed unto the black background of time,

Showcasing the strength that is undeniably mine,

Conquering over it under the nightfall skit,

To stand proudly in the sunlight lit.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

TanYah Global

TanYah is a versatile writer who has had such a wide range of life experiences it's like her own life story is fiction. She has authored several books and just finds writing the best therapeutic tool for good mental health & social change

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.