Poets logo

Color Me Alive

A Poem

By C.R. HughesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Color Me Alive
Photo by Lucas Benjamin on Unsplash

I watched the world burn in a blaze of fiery red

Hatred smoldering against a pitch black sky of smoke

Harsh on the eyes and harsh on the heart.

By raquel raclette on Unsplash

That was when I decided I liked blue.

The color of calm clear seas and skies that weren't angry

The color of violets in bloom

But suddenly, blue became sadness.

The color of my thoughts and feelings

A heart wrenching from the red anger of the world around me

Begging for its colors to change

But it never did

So my thoughts remained blue

By steffi harms on Unsplash

Until I decided I liked green.

The color of soft grass and life itself

But then green became sickness and envy

The color of anxiety being vomited from the body

The color of longing for a life that couldn't be obtained

By Jonatan Pie on Unsplash

So I decided I liked white.

The color of purity and opulence

But soon it became oppression

A standard that was never worth maintaining

And too difficult to clean

By Evie S. on Unsplash

So I decided I liked black.

The color of smooth ebony and dark rooms overflowing with inspiration

But then it became the color of injustice

The color of innocence turned guilty

The color of centuries of pain that no one wanted to account for

By Cai Carney on Unsplash

So I ended up back at red.

My insides burning with a rage so deep it was crimson.

Angry at the now grey sky for never listening to my cries,

My pleads for justice or sanctuary,

And colors that didn't hurt.

By Alexander Mils on Unsplash

And then I didn't mind the world burning.

Maybe then colors will become beautiful again.

-----------------------------------------

If you enjoyed this, feel free to leave a like and/or tip and check out some of my other stories. Also, follow me on Instagram @c.r.hughes

Thanks for reading!

-Chanté

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

C.R. Hughes

I write things sometimes. Tips are always appreciated.

https://crhughes.carrd.co/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.