Poets logo

Cold Water Women

(Version 3)

By Katherine OrfingerPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

“I need a drinkof cold water,”

I mumble upon waking up.

Daddy shows me howa scrunched-up straw wrapperbecomes a wormunder a dribble of cold wateron the table at Cracker Barrel–look! how the fledglingworm blossoms.Little Katie laughs.

In the shower withmy “male companion.”He sayswomen blossomunder cold water.Hard nipples and the like.Katherine shivers.

Alone, and theonly cold water in the housefinds my strawberry clit.Cold hands mangle fresh fruit undercold water:orgasmic raspberriesapple cores, darker than the artificial sweetnessI remember, bluesy berries,bruised from so-called lovers’ hands.

If I’m going to swallowthis pill,I'll need a drinkof cold water.

heartbreaksad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Katherine Orfinger

I am a college student, future teacher, Jewish woman, and member of the LGBT+ community. I write personal essays, poetry, and short fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.