Poets logo

Cold Sunday

A Poem

By NeishPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

I hope whatever thrill you’re seeking,

The one you can’t seem to find in me,

Meets your qualifications

And give you exhilarating sensations,

I just wish that when it came to us you had more patience.

Our words no longer sound like “I love you”,

They sound like jealousy and “I don’t really believe in you”,

We’re directionless going through this maze, but I’ll stay by your side because it’s going to be a Cold Sunday.

I can’t really see through my tears,

Even after two years,

I still don’t like the way you talk to me,

It’s easier for you to just call me crazy,

Rather than apologize and just think that maybe

I’m not expressing anger it’s just how I translate pain,

Then when I try to explain it comes out an obscure way,

Please say you understand what I’m trying to say, if not

Here comes another Cold Sunday.

I know you have the weight of the world on your shoulders,

I’m sorry I haven’t made it easier and it feels like I’ve added boulders,

It’s just that I can feel our flame growing colder,

Two hours or two inches apart I’ve never felt further

From you,

If you were waiting for a reason to leave,

I’m guessing this was your que,

Before you go and the game ends,

Just know I fold,

I’ll show you all the cards I currently hold,

Here comes another Sunday, it’s heart-shattering cold.

We don’t know how to end,

We fight, exonerate pretend peace

And we begin again,

We stopped being lovers because I stopped knowing how to be your friend,

I’m so busy trying to make sure we don’t have a repeat,

That I can’t see that for the fourth time we just passed that same tree,

But you don’t really speak,

It’s as if you find comfort in ignoring me.

I’ll watch you leave me on Saturday,

After the sun has gone down,

For the people who stay on your side of the town,

I’ll say whatever I have to if it’ll get you to stay,

But my words just fueled a different kind of flame,

One that destroyed the love we once claimed,

So I send you on your way,

Just please be safe and

Experience the warmest days,

And if you ever think about me in passing, drive the thoughts away,

You don’t deserve another Cold Sunday.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.