Poets logo

Cold Pain, Warm Soup

Perpetual Comfort

By Bernadette JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Cold Pain, Warm Soup
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

As a child barely past crib age,

I snuck out of bed and wandered the house.

The sweet freedom soon turned bitter

when a tack pierced my foot.

I cried out, shed tears in the dark,

and my parents appeared.

I was caught and sure of punishment.

They carried my weeping husk into the light,

where they bandaged my wound,

wrapped me in a soft blanket,

fed me a warm cup of soup,

and let me watch TV well past bedtime.

The pain was soon forgotten,

but the memory is still there

in the depths of my mind

radiating comfort.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Bernadette Johnson

Bernadette “Berni” Johnson is the author of The Big Book of Spy Trivia, many tech articles, movie reviews, short stories, and two novels in perpetual editing.

You can find her blog, other work, and mailing list at bernijohnson.com.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • John Eva2 years ago

    Short, sweet, and wholly comforting, this was fantastic!

  • Awww, this was so lovely!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Splendid!!!👏😊💖💕Subscribed & hearted!!!💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.