Poets logo

Coffee Surprise

Colorful Hot Drink

By Andrea Corwin Published about a month ago 1 min read
14

I bought a box of Starbucks cups

The orange sale sticker pulled me in

I couldn’t win!

I had to have those cups -

All different colors with vibrant flowers painted on the sides

Hot cups with lids, microwavable and dishwasher top rack safe

Put in the hot coffee and they change colors

Wow, I’m like a little kid - I used one today

It was all pink, but then the hot coffee poured in and voilà, its bottom half was turquoise!

I had (fleeting) thoughts of giving the box as a gift, but selfishness took over

I’ll keep them in the cupboard - a surprise for any guests

I’ll take them with me at the drive through Starbucks

I’ll hand them my cup and watch as it turns colors

Saving the earth, a re-useable cup

I recycled the carton, but had to pull it out of the recycled bin

Why?

Because I forgot what color my cup was before I put hot coffee in it, and I wanted to see what it changed to

There is plum to lavender, pale pink to pale blue

Teal green to pink and dark green to hot pink

Hot pink to turquoise - the one I used today -and a deep Cantelope color becomes a fuchsia pink

social commentaryFree VerseFor Fun
14

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin - All Rights Reserved.

Using content without written permission is prohibited

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit3 days ago

    Awesome story I like it congratulations 🎉🎉

  • Joe O’Connor24 days ago

    Love how the innocent joy at something so ordinary, yet satisfying, really comes through here Andrea! Saving the planet one drink at a time:)

  • Katie Erdmanabout a month ago

    I love those cups! I’ve seen them. So pretty.

  • Karen Coady about a month ago

    Now I want to go to Starbucks - something I may do once per year and for someone else. So fun cups and good for the environment! Hooray!! I’m excited about getting one!

  • Andrea Corwin (Author)about a month ago

    oh....not this time! but yeah, coffee out is sooo expensive. I remind people of that when they complain they can't afford ... certain things...if they gave up 2 coffees or 2 wine tastings....

  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Ac - Who me cynical? It seems to me the cups are less expensive as to what's InUm of late. Jk

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I'm a fan of everything reusable but these cups are just too floral and colourful for me, lol. But of course I'd still choose them over disposable ones. Loved your poem!

  • Michelle Liewabout a month ago

    An ode to diversity. Well done, Andrea.

  • “M”about a month ago

    Great poem, you are doing a great job as usual

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Sometimes the simplest things can bring such pleasure. It reminds me of the mood rings from the seventies! This is another fun poem, Andrea!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenlerabout a month ago

    Andrea, I had to chuckle over your poem, which I love. I have an old Starbucks mug I have had for years and use every day. People can make fun of the coffee powerhouse, but we love 'em!

  • I adore your poem! ‘ I had to have those cups - All different colors with vibrant flowers painted on the sides Hot cups with lids, microwavable and dishwasher top rack safe Put in the hot coffee and they change colors Wow, I’m like a little kid - I used one today’ I want one!!!🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.