Poets logo

COFFEE BEAN

Bad news, bad for you

By Jackson Picco Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
COFFEE BEAN
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I stepped in line not recalling how many people behind, you were there swaying, checking, glancing and deflecting my backwards stare,

The back of your knees had me wanting coffee beans, too bad I did not skip the line, but if I did you still would not have been mine,

I relax, wonder how many packs of cigarettes I need to get past the sight of your back and the sight of you never turning your face to mine...

I keep my cool, I stiffen, but relax, I stay wishin' I was the one to pay for your coffee, all I want is to be the one you want, the one you sought,

But before you turn your mind is changed, you are already engaged to someone strange, he cuts the line in time for your arrival at the counter, I regret my falter...

Our kids would be prettier, fittier and retire, my mind is satire,

I'm younger, you're older,

You're funny, I'm colder...

If we got coffee we would talk, the clock would halt, it would stop, our future is just cropped in the picture of my mind,

Suddenly you turn as your turn to pay comes, I lock in with your eyes hear nothing but Cudi hums,

It's just us...

We pause we see what we are, two strong lovers but too afar, now forbidden to the thought of a high school car,

Dated lust.

Impulsive it would be, you belong with he, the payer of your beans,

My heart is yours and in this moment you know yours would be mine,

I'm your black coffee.

Our eyes still grasp, still locked, we wish we could hug, you know I know we belonged wrapped in our whirlwind of love,

You're his, I know,

You know I say 'I do'

Goodbye by love, yes I hear you say,

'I wish it was you'

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jackson Picco

This is more stressful than writing my tinder bio.. I dabble in fiction.

Insta:@jackson.picco

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.