Poets logo

Code Blue

Coming Out and Moving On

By Brandy EnnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Your complacency is not what makes you strong.

You look at me as though what you see through my glasses is what I see when I take them off,

Turn a blind eye,

Keep those thoughts inside,

Who I was to you yesterday coded and died.

You think of me differently even though I’m the same,

I am not ashamed,

This is who I’ll remain,

And it really makes you green because my blue hair causes you physical pain.

I’m just another millennial wanting attention,

You think I’ll change my mind,

Because to you I can decide,

But love is love and my love is my pride.

You’ll just quietly ignore me and our twenty year bond,

But your life will carry on,

Another lie of a silent song,

Your complacency is not what makes you strong.

I’ve never changed but I felt the urge to share my most intimate details,

And because you can’t see me,

In any light but sympathetically,

It’s code blue and we’re history.

I trusted you with what I thought was the most comfortable of news,

I’ve never seen news thrown so far,

Right back at my face and down to my heart,

Where you tried to leave the tiniest superficial scar.

But to tell you the truth it’s like I’ll never notice you’re gone,

I have new friends,

I have strength within,

And this neon haired girl will never think of you again.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Brandy Enn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.