Poets logo

Cocoon

My journey

By Ruby G.Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
"A gold substance bled from my skin / And encased me in a golden cocoon."

I made it to the top of the mountain.

The view was a sight to behold.

I paused in the Lord’s presence.

I meditated on things that were.

Reflected on the journeys that are to come.

I took a deep breath and smiled.

I was ready.

I turned to the side of the mountain.

Preparing to climb down the other side.

I took my first step

And collapsed.

Pressure and pain came over me.

I couldn’t stand

I couldn’t move.

What was happening to me?

I curled into a ball and writhed in pain.

A gold substance bled from my skin

And encased me in a golden cocoon.

It’s dark.

Everything hurts.

I scream,

But no one can hear me.

So I pray.

I pray for freedom

For a way out.

I thought I was ready

For my life to begin

But now here I am

Trapped once more.

I beg and I plead

I sob and I bleed

The cocoon continues to form

Until I can barely breathe.

As the words of my mouth cease to form,

My heart continues to cry out to the Lord.

Until finally

I feel His peace.

He tells me to look up

So I do,

And through the layers of gold that still surround me

I see the shape of an angel

Flying high in the sky.

It was my beloved

Whose angelic wings had already taken her

To glorious new heights.

She once said we’d both fly one day.

I didn’t believe her.

Her destiny was to fly.

Mine was to journey on foot.

But at that moment, as I stared up through the layers of gold.

I realized I was wrong, and she was right.

I will fly,

I just need my wings first.

I can’t climb down the mountain,

Because I was never meant to.

I had to make the journey up it,

But it was never my destiny

to journey back down.

My story is not forward

It’s upward.

That’s why I am here in this golden cocoon.

That’s why the pressure and pain is so strong.

My wings are forming.

It will take time, I know.

So I will endure it all

The pressure, the weight

The struggle, the pain,

The golden cocoon.

It is refining me

Transforming me

Into who I am called to be.

But when the time is right,

And my wings are fully formed,

I will break free.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ruby G.

A woman with a pen in her hand and stories to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.