Poets logo

Cocaine, Whiskey, and Panic

A Celebration of Life

By Lyndsey CrenshawPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Cheers to Ben

Sorrow quickly consumes us all, We are left with the yearning of your voice; I long for the days you would say, “I’m kind of a big deal…” Instead I reach for that bottle of crown…cheers we all say! “Cheers to you…cheers to a life taken too soon…and maybe you were ‘kind of a big deal’” I continuously hit repeat on any Panic song that comes on… “Sun came out the other day / through those dusty clouds…” I cannot seem to forget the lyrics or silence them in my mind, “ain’t life grand…ain’t life grand” What can take the pain away? Cocaine Whiskey Panic I have come to understand nothing will stop the pain… Anytime your name is mentioned; we all immediately begin to weep… Weep at the sound of your name, weep at the fact you are no longer with us, and weep because we must continue in this cruel world without you. It is true what they say… It is the good that always die young; at first I felt anger then a twinge of resentment Now…I feel like a shot of whiskey…not in mourning but in remembrance. Because let’s face it…you are still a big deal!

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lyndsey Crenshaw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.