Poets logo

Cobblestone

Where once we walked before

By Bugsy WattsPublished 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
12

I walked the streets of cobblestone

where once we walked before.

They were not the piles of broken bone

I imagined anymore.

***

They filled the corners of our town

laid out carpets on sunny days.

Beckoned me in bright ballgown

down secretive alleyways.

***

They carved out the beaten path

where walked all the others.

They subsisted in the aftermath

of warring, vengeful brothers.

***

I stepped carefully on familiar road

this day of my return.

I hoped the turmoil had since slowed

passions no longer burned.

***

I fled the streets we once knew

in an effort to change my ways.

Now the stones are a different hue

under the glinting sun rays.

***

I've known the tempo of my feet

on lanes of cobblestone.

Now I walk a different beat

as I make my way back home.

performance poetry
12

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read11 months ago

    I love the lyricism of each line and how it has a tempo like marching feet. Brilliant.

  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    I love your rhymes. 💕💕 This is just beautiful.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Oh how beautiful. I honestly thought this was written by Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Love it.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I agree with Heather. Beautiful imagery. It also felt historical as if narrator was from a different Era. Love it ❤️ Hearted and subscribed

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I loved the imagery in this. Felt like I was walking a path while you filled in all the colors. Beautiful work :)

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Love it!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is great! Love the rhythm. :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I really like this. It's unique and filled with earthy imagery. Well done.

  • That is a wonderful evocative poem, I love it, you have a new subscriber too

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.