Poets logo

Clutter

A Poem

By Michael avantPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I can't remember what it felt like

I can't remember when it felt right.

I desperately entertain the illusion of what it could be,

Mirrors constructed from lies,don't be amazed at what you

Should see.

Obtain permission to open her heart as if it required me,

Trading has never been an option since the first day

She acquired me.

She's the boss I'm just lucky she hasn't fired me,

I've read the inked manipulation paraphrased

In her diary.

Hopes that her mechanism of defense shuts

Down entirely,

Communication is key and always seems to

Be in dire need.

Cut off from all affection,we know what it leads to,

So you tighten up your grip on someone who no longer

Needs you.

Head over heels, that's exactly how they said

He fell,

Her angelic voice distracts me from this

Petty hell.

Many queens lost on the tour of the kings land,

Before the night concludes wrap me comfortably

In your wingspan.

Questionable potential about staying afloat,

Commitment to row long before you saw

The boat.

Stutter steps, I'm fully aware of how you're

Insecure,

Fasten you in slow make sure that you're

In, secure.

Carefully persuading the queen B to

Escape her hive,

Water under the bridge and neither one of

Us knows how to dive.

Maintain focus on basking in a good state,

Certain lines you shouldn't cross as a sign

Of good faith.

Treasure her pot of gold, our rainbow is never

Lookin' black,

Her love is a promise that I hope is never tookin'

Back.

Against you I've won fights but never feel

Quite like a champ,

Backpedal till our muscles finally ignite

A cramp.

Lost in your eyes last resort was to setup

Camp,

Your wish is my command all you have to

Do is find my lamp.

Maybe we should wet our feet even though the

Water is never that warm,

No games, hand in hand, controlling our

Own platform.

The glass appears even fuller while sipping

From a cleaner cup,

Life is a mess we just do our best to

Clean it up.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michael avant

Hello fellow creators. In short I'm nothing more than a very big fan of this art form we all love called Poetry. Playing with words and thoughts, bending and twisting ideas is all part of this therapeutic yet challenging past time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.