Poets logo

"Cleaning"

Poems

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
"Cleaning"
Photo by Precious Plastic Melbourne on Unsplash

I hold the duster in my hand, conducting it like a wand as I make the dust disappear from every surface.

Pushing the button, the loud hum of the vacuum fills my ears as I move it along the brown carpet, hearing the dirt being sucked up occasionally.

Sweeping; the broom moving the dirt from the floor into the bin. The linoleum becomes lighter and brighter with each brush of the bristles.

Grabbing the Swiffer, I begin mopping the floor, the precise actions of my hand guiding the mop to its destination.

It lifts the dirt away.

Getting the multi-purpose cleaner, I spray the kitchen counter, the orange scent pleasing me as I wipe the coffee stains away.

The Zen feeling pours over me as I find my rhythm.

The bathroom mirror always sparkles whenever I remove the toothpaste splatter with the towel.

I scrub out the toilet with the brush, my arm aching slightly. But I keep going, knowing my hard work will pay off.

The sink and shower become renewed as I wipe away the grime, eucalyptus enveloping me.

Water flows over my hands as I use the sponge on the sudsy dishes, clanking as I place them in the dishwasher. Turning the knob clockwise, I hear its thunderous roar.

Like pressing a diamond onto the sticky canvas, I return the objects to their rightful places.

I stand in the middle of my living room, puffing out my chest as I smile at my accomplishment.

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Likes, shares, follows, tips, pledges, and subscriptions are always cherished. :)

how to
2

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.